GOVERNMENTDIALOGUE

IN CONVERSATION WITH THE PUBLIC EMPLOYEE

President Jacob Zuma has signed a Proclamation to establish or abolish national departments as well as designate such departments and their heads, and has established a number of task-specific Inter-Ministerial Committees to produce better and faster results in the work of government.

These developments, announced by the Presidency on Thursday, 3 July 2014, follow the President's announcement on 25 May 2014 on how government would be reconfigured to improve efficiency and effectiveness.

New/abolished departments

The Presidential Proclamation on new and abolished departments sets out the following:

- The Department of Small Business Development (new department).
- The Department of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation will replace the Department of Performance Monitoring and Evaluation.
- The Department of Water and Sanitation will replace the Department of Water Affairs.

- The Department of Women will replace the Department of Women, Children and People with Disabilities.
- The Department of Communications will replace the Government Communications and Information Service (GCIS).
- The Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services. The Presidency announced that President Zuma would, as a next step, transfer the administration of legislation, powers and functions to the relevant Ministers in terms of Section 97 of the Constitution of South Africa, 1996.

Inter-Ministerial Committees

President Jacob Zuma has appointed Inter-Ministerial Committees (IMCs) in addition to the Ministerial Clusters announced recently, as part of establishing the new government system of the fifth democratic administration, in order to enhance efficiency and effectiveness.

The IMCs are appointed by the President (and in certain instances by Cabinet) to serve a very specific purpose that is deemed to require the dedicated attention of a certain team of



President Jacob Zuma.



government communications

Department: Government Communication and Information System REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA



July 2014

GOVERNMENT DIALOGUE

Ministers. The mandate of the IMCs is therefore limited to the matter that they are established to execute.

The IMCs established by the President are as follows;

The IMC on the Prevention and Combating of Corruption

The purpose of this anti-corruption IMC is to coordinate and oversee the work of state organs aimed at fighting and combating the scourge of corruption in the public and private sectors.

It comprises the following Ministers:



Minister Jeff Radebe.

- Mr Jeff Radebe, the Minister in the Presidency responsible for Planning, Performance Monitoring and Evaluation, who serves as a convenor and chair,
- Justice and Correctional Services
- State Security
- Police
- Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

- Public Service and Administration
- Home Affairs
- Finance
- Social Development

The IMC on Information and Publicity

The IMC will be responsible for championing and coordinating the work of government with regards to communicating programmes to the nation at large as well as branding and marketing the country to the citizens and the world.

The IMC comprises the following Ministers:

- The Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Performance Monitoring and Evaluation, who will serve as the convenor and chair
- Communications
- International Relations and Cooperation
- Trade and Industry
- Finance
- Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs
- Water and Sanitation
- Tourism
- Environmental Affairs
- Social Development
- Rural Development and Land Reform
- Public Service and Administration.

The Inter-Ministerial Service Delivery Task Team

The purpose of the Inter-Ministerial Service Delivery Task Team is to fast-track service delivery in areas where there are bottlenecks, quickly respond to areas where there are service delivery problems and ensure that general service delivery is improved.

The Service Delivery Task Force comprises the following Ministers:

- Mr Pravin Gordhan, Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, who serves as the convenor and chair
- Human Settlements
- Water and Sanitation
- Energy

- Home Affairs
- Public Enterprises
- Transport
- Rural Development and Land Reform
- Basic Education
- Health
- Planning, Performance Monitoring and Evaluation in the Presidency.

The IMC on State Funerals

The purpose of the Funerals IMC is to oversee the organisation of State Funerals.

The IMC comprises the following Ministers:

- Minister in the Presidency for Planning, Performance Monitoring and Evaluation, who serves as the convenor and chair
- Police
- Public Works
- State Security
- International Relations
- Defence and Military Veterans
- Transport

The IMC on the Revitalisation of Distressed Mining Communities

The purpose of the IMC is to drive and oversee the implementation of the Special Presidential Package (SPP) for the revitalisation of distressed mining communities.

The following four focus areas have been identified as requiring special attention:

- (a) Integrated and sustainable human settlements in mining towns and in the Labour Sending Areas (LSAs).
- (b) Improved socio-economic conditions of mine communities and the LSAs.
- (c) Improved working conditions of mine workers.
- (d) Ensuring decent living conditions for mine workers and meaningful contribution to the development trajectory of mining towns and the LSAs.

GOVERNMENT DIALOGUE



The IMC comprises the following Ministers:

- Minister in the Presidency: Planning, Performance Monitoring and Evaluation, the convenor and chair
- Mineral Resources
- Trade and Industry
- Police
- Social Development
- Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs
- Water and Sanitation
- Defence and Military Veterans
- Labour
- State Security
- Health
- Finance
- Human Settlements
- Economic Development
- Minister in the Presidency: Women.

Short-term IMCs

The President has also established the following short-term IMCs dedicated to organising certain high level events:

- The Inter-Ministerial Committee on the Smart Partnership Dialogue
- The IMC on the Commonwealth Partnership for Technology Management (CPTM) Smart Partnership Dialogue will oversee the organisation of the Smart Partnership Dialogue which will take place for the first time in South Africa from 14-17 October 2014.

The Dialogue will serve as a platform for SMART partners, including Heads of State and Government, business leaders, scientists, academics and others, to discuss ideas and experiences related to Science, Technology and Innovation for socio-economic transformation and development.

The IMC is chaired by the Minister in The Presidency for Planning, Performance Monitoring and Evaluation and consists

of the following Ministers:

- International Relations and Cooperation,
- Trade and Industry,
- Telecommunications and Postal Services,
- Communications,
- Science and Technology,
- Defence and Military Veterans,
- Economic Development,
- Public Enterprises,
- Small Business Development,
- Transport,
- Public Works,
- Finance,
- Tourism,
- Police and
- State Security.

20 Years of Freedom

The Inter-Ministerial Committee on 20 Years of Freedom and Democracy is chaired by the Minister of Arts and Culture, Mr Nathi Mthethwa, and consists of the following Ministers:

- Defence and Military
 Veterans
- Cooperative Governance
 and Traditional Affairs
- International Relations and Cooperation
- Transport
- Public Works
- Tourism
- Finance
- Police, and
- Presidency: Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation.
- "We wish the members

of these committees all the

success in the execution, streamlining and coordination of the work of government for faster and better results," said President Zuma.

